ACP 城市学习首尔最新的气候变化和空气质量治理策略

随着联合国可持续发展目标 11 强调了城市的低碳和可持续发展,过去几年间,地方政府在应对气候变化中所扮演的角色日趋重要。但在此同时,不少亚洲城市的居民仍在日常生活中面临着气候变化和空气质量的挑战。

为支持亚洲城市提升应对气候变化和空气污染的能力,宜可城东亚秘书处和首尔人力资源开发中心(SHRDC)自 2016 年起,每年定期为亚洲地方政府提供能力建设。今年九月,来自印尼、菲律宾和越南的地方政府来到首尔,参与了为期一周的培训。

这场培训别具意义,因为它同时也是宜可城牵头执行的“低碳城市承诺”(Ambitious City Promises, ACP)项目的一部分。该项目旨在于 2017-2020 年间,支持印尼、菲律宾和越南的地方政府提升能力,制定因地制宜的气候政策和行动计划,最终达成减少温室气体排放,为全球目标作出贡献。其中,首尔市在这个项目中也扮演了关键的角色,因为参与项目的东南亚城市特别决定参考该市用于应对气候变化的关键战略《首尔承诺》。

在项目框架下,宜可城东亚秘书处和 SHRDC 邀请了 11 名来自印尼雅加达勿加泗、菲律宾帕拉纳克巴石和越南河内的市政府公务员来到首尔参与培训,并安排了首尔市政府气候、交通、废弃物管理和市民参与等部门官员,分享他们在相关领域推进的政策和最佳实践。

另外,培训学员们还参访了兰芝岛博物馆、水力发电站、首尔新活用广场,和一个由居民主导的能源自给自足社区等首尔市在低碳和可持续发展领域推进的重要项目设施,以进一步了解如何将应对气候变化的理论结合实务,将政策和战略转化为实际行动。

首尔市的成就,以及让各利益相关者多层级参与的作法,特别令培训学员们印象深刻。然而,他们也担忧韩国首都的脉络和条件,与他们所在城市的当地情况可能有所不同。例如,菲律宾的电力、运输和污水处理系统等基础设施署私人实体。因此,城市——更遑论中央政府——很难在这些领域进行数据蒐集和/或开展公共项目。

另一个培训城市面临的挑战,是缺乏知识、财务和中央政府的支持。坐落于雅加达东边的勿加泗市,是印尼特别首都地域内的一个通勤城市。然而,作为一个规模远不及首都的城市,勿加泗却长期在缺少中央政府充分的支持下,承担着雅加达产生的所有废弃物。眼见勿加泗现有的填埋场可能在三年内面临饱和,该市的官员们却因专业知识不足,依旧未能提出解决方案。

缺乏公民参与也是这些城市普遍存在的障碍。菲律宾巴石市的代表特别惊叹首尔市政府市民参与能源政策团队 Yeonji Kim 的分享,并表示该市也有意愿引入类似于首尔市自主参与节能计划项目 EcoMileage 的奖励机制。而越南河内市的代表,则特别对首尔市的公共交通系统和无转乘计划,以及它们为提升空气质量和其他领域带来的环境效益感兴趣。

最后,缺乏财政支持也是这些城市面临的另一大障碍。尽管地方政府官员们已通过培训提升了他们在制定和执行气候政策层面的能力,更展示了他们对于改善城市环境的意愿和热情,但他们也表示,在缺少财务支持的情况下,要实现这些目标并不容易。因此,未来在提供给亚洲地方政府的培训中,还应增加有关财务工具的环节,协助他们以更具经济效益且现实的方式,制定并加速执行他们的气候政策。

宜可城东亚秘书处将持续与首尔人才开发中心合作,为区域内弱势的地方政府提供能力建设的机会,期望提升城市领导人对于气候变化的认识,并支持他们扩展合作网络,就相似的挑战共创解决方案。

 

 

宜可城全球秘书处
Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 7
53113 Bonn
Germany
T: +49-228/97 62 99-00
F.+49-228/97 62 99-01 电邮: www.iclei.org
欧洲
欧洲秘书处
Leopoldring 3
79098 Freiburg, Germany
www.iclei-europe.org
布鲁塞尔办公室
Av. de Tervuren 35
1040 Bruxelles
Belgium
非洲
Physical address:
3 Knowledge Park
Century City
Cape Town
8001
South Africa
Postal address:
PO Box 5319
Tygervalley
7536
South Africa
africa.iclei.org
北美洲
加拿大办公室
401 Richmond St. W
Studio 204
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 3A8, Canada
www.icleicanada.org
美国办公室
536 Wynkoop St.
Suite 901
Denver, Colorado
USA 80202
www.icleiusa.org
墨西哥、中美洲和加勒比地区
墨西哥、中美洲和加勒比海区秘书处
Paseo de la Reforma 136 Piso 14 Of. B, Col. Juarez, C.P. 06600, Del. Cuauhtemoc, Ciudad de Mexico
www.iclei.org.mx
南美洲
南美洲秘书处
Rua Ibiraçu, 226, Vila Madalena
São Paulo / SP - Brazil
CEP 05451-040
americadosul.iclei.org
南亚
南亚秘书处
Ground Floor, NSIC-STP Complex NSIC Bhawan, Okhla Industrial Estate New Delhi – 110020, India
southasia.iclei.org
东亚
东亚秘书处
14/F, Seoul Global Center Building, 38 Jongno, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (110-110)
eastasia.iclei.org
日本办公室
1-14-2 Nishi-Shimbashi,
Minato-ku
Tokyo, Japan 105-0003
japan.iclei.org
韩国办公室
(16429) 3F, Suwon Research Institute,
126, Suin-ro, Gwonseon-gu, Suwon-si,
Gyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea
www.icleikorea.org
东南亚
东南亚秘书处
c/o The Manila Observatory Ateneo de Manila University Campus Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1101 Manila, Philippines
icleiseas.org
印尼项目办公室
Rasuna Office Park III WO. 06-09 Komplek Rasuna Epicentrum Jl. Taman Rasuna Selatan, Kuningan DKI Jakarta, 12960, Indonesia
大洋洲
大洋洲秘书处
Level 1, 200 Little Collins Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
www.icleioceania.org

ACP Cities updated with Seoul’s latest strategy on climate change and air pollution control

Since the importance of low carbon and sustainable development in cities has been highlighted in the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) 11, the role of local governments in addressing climate change has grown significantly in the last few years. Meanwhile, citizens in most Asian cities are confronting both climate change and air quality challenges in their daily lives.

To support Asian cities developing their own capacity in combating climate change and air pollution control, ICLEI East Asia and the Seoul Human Resources Development Center (SHRDC) have been providing annual capacity building to local governments in the Asia Region since 2016. Recently in September, a week-long training was provided to local government officials from Indonesia, the Philippines, and Vietnam.

This year, the training was especially meaningful as it was part of the Ambitious City Promises (ACP), a program led by ICLEI to develop the capacity of local governments in the cities of the above-mentioned countries from 2017-2020. This project aims to support these cities to establish their own, customized climate policy and action plans, and ultimately reduce greenhouse gases to contribute to global goals. Seoul has been playing a crucial role as these cities in the Southeast Asia region specifically decided to adopt the Promise of Seoul, the key strategy on climate change of the South Korean capital.

As a part of the program, SHRDC and ICLEI East Asia invited 11 officials from Jakarta, Bekasi (Indonesia), Paranaque, Pasig (the Philippines), and Hanoi (Vietnam) to the training, which included experience-sharing, policy briefings, as well as site visits to several key low-carbon and sustainable city projects in Seoul.

On this occasion, the climate, transportation, waste management, and citizen participation division heads of the Seoul Metropolitan Government shared their knowledge and expertise in implementing their respective policies and best cases. Field trips to places including the Nanjido Museum, hydro station, the Seoul Upcycling Plaza, and a community-led self-energy sufficient village were also arranged for the participants to experience how each policy is being implemented and perceived on the ground.

The participants were deeply impressed by Seoul’s achievements and motivated by the engagement of every stakeholder at multi-levels; nevertheless, there were also concerns that the local contexts in Seoul and their home cities could be rather different. For instance, utilities and infrastructure, such as electricity, transportation, and water treatment, in the Philippines are owned by private entities, making it difficult for cities—let alone the central government—to collect data and/or carry out public projects in these fields.

Another challenge the participating cities are facing was the lack of knowledge, finance, and support from central governments. Located on the eastern border of Jakarta, the Indonesian city Bekasi serves as a commuter city within the Jakarta metropolitan area. Yet, as a relatively small city compared to the country’s capital, Bekasi has been managing all the waste generated from Jakarta without sufficient support from the central government. The problem has been exacerbating in recent years, as the existing landfill site in Bekasi may be filled up in 3 years, but without sufficient knowledge, the city officials have yet to come up with solutions.

A lack of citizen participation is also a common obstacle the cities have identified. Representatives of Pasig, for example, were particularly fascinated by the presentation made by Yeonji Kim from the Citizen Participatory Energy Policy Division of Seoul, and have expressed their intention to introduce an incentive program similar to the voluntary energy-saving program EcoMileage of Seoul. Hanoi, on the other hand, was intrigued by the public transportation system and the transfer-free scheme in Seoul, along with their environmental benefits including air-quality improvement.

Last but not least, the lack of financial support, is yet another big hurdle. While the city officials have enhanced their capacities in climate-related policy planning and implementation, and have demonstrated their willingness and passion to make their cities better, they have also expressed that, with limited financial means, it has not been easy for them to realize their ambitions. It was, therefore, suggested that an additional session on financial instruments in future training could be helpful for local governments in the region to develop and accelerate their climate policies in more economically efficient and realistic ways.

ICLE East Asia will continue to work with SHRDC in providing capacity-building opportunities to vulnerable local governments in the region, with the aims of increasing the awareness of climate change among city leaders and widening their networks to co-create solutions for common challenges in the field.

ICLEI WORLD SECRETARIAT
Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 7
53113 Bonn
Germany
T: +49-228/97 62 99-00
F.+49-228/97 62 99-01 Email: www.iclei.org
EUROPE
European Secretariat
Leopoldring 3
79098 Freiburg, Germany
www.iclei-europe.org
Brussels Office
Av. de Tervuren 35
1040 Bruxelles
Belgium
Africa secretariat
Physical address:
3 Knowledge Park
Century City
Cape Town
8001
South Africa
Postal address:
PO Box 5319
Tygervalley
7536
South Africa
africa.iclei.org
north america
Canada Office
401 Richmond St. W
Studio 204
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 3A8, Canada
www.icleicanada.org
USA Office
536 Wynkoop St.
Suite 901
Denver, Colorado
USA 80202
www.icleiusa.org
MEXICO, CENTRAL AMERICA and the CARIBBEAN
Mexico, Central American and Caribbean Secretariat
Paseo de la Reforma 136 Piso 14 Of. B, Col. Juarez, C.P. 06600, Del. Cuauhtemoc, Ciudad de Mexico
www.iclei.org.mx
South America
South American Secretariat
Rua Ibiraçu, 226, Vila Madalena
São Paulo / SP - Brazil
CEP 05451-040
americadosul.iclei.org
South Asia
South Asia Secretariat
Ground Floor, NSIC-STP Complex NSIC Bhawan, Okhla Industrial Estate New Delhi – 110020, India
southasia.iclei.org
east asia
East Asia Secretariat
14/F, Seoul Global Center Building, 38 Jongno, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (110-110)
ICLEI East Asia Secretariat
Japan Office
1-14-2 Nishi-Shimbashi,
Minato-ku
Tokyo, Japan 105-0003
ICLEI Japan
Korea Office
(16429) 3F, Suwon Research Institute,
126, Suin-ro, Gwonseon-gu, Suwon-si,
Gyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea
www.icleikorea.org
southeast asia
Southeast Asia Secretariat
c/o The Manila Observatory Ateneo de Manila University Campus Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1101 Manila, Philippines
icleiseas.org
Indonesia Project Office
Rasuna Office Park III WO. 06-09 Komplek Rasuna Epicentrum Jl. Taman Rasuna Selatan, Kuningan DKI Jakarta, 12960, Indonesia
oceania
Oceania Secretariat
Level 1, 200 Little Collins Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
www.icleioceania.org
Associate Partnership
ICLEI membership application
Want to be a model?
ICLEI membership online application form