城市转型联盟项目中德城市相聚北京

“面向可持续未来的城市转型之路”城市转型联盟项目中国研讨会成功于 10 月 30 日在北京市举行,与会的三十余名中德城市代表和合作伙伴就城市转型之路进行了深入交流和探讨。

宜可城—地方可持续发展协会东亚秘书处主任兼北京代表处首席代表朱澍,诚挚欢迎到场的嘉宾和与会者,并分享了“城市转型联盟” (Urban Transitions Alliance, 简称 UTA)项目和宜可城网络的最新发展情况。

2017 年 11 月,由宜可城统筹管理、Stiftung Mercator 资助的“城市转型联盟”项目正式启动,旨在为世界各地的工业城镇和前工业城镇提供机会,成为领先全球的可持续发展城镇。目前,已有 11 个来自中国、德国、美国和波兰的地方政府加入此项目。

 

4.JPG
德国联邦环境、自然保护、建筑和核安全部部门主管 Vera Rodenhoff


中国北京市环境保护局科技和国际合作处处长明登历

 

通过在联盟项目框架下组织的国际论坛、线上主题工作坊(Thematic Webinars)和联盟挑战“急线”(Alliance Challenge Exchange Calls)等多种方式,项目城市与同侪地方政府共同探讨转型过程中所面临的相似挑战,分享交流知识,共创解决方案。同时,与专家、私营部门等建立紧密的合作伙伴关系,就能源、交通、基础建设和社会转型等四大核心议题开展相关工作。

德国联邦环境、自然保护、建筑和核安全部部门主管 Vera Rodenhoff 在开幕致辞中强调,在城市中融入自然环境元素,不仅有益居民的身心健康,更有助于避免气候变化所带来的负面影响和城市热岛效应。“德国和中国城市面临不少相似的气候变化挑战,”她表示,“虽然议题的层级和范围有所差异,但两国城市仍有不少经验和课题值得相互学习。”

中国北京市环境保护局科技和国际合作处处长明登历分享了北京市二十年来积极改善环境和提升大气质量的经验,强调国际合作有助于地方政府彼此切磋学习。

“不少欧洲城市已完成工业化,转型步入城市可持续发展的阶段。但中国城市三十年前才开始工业化,目前仍在进行中。”明处长接着说,“通过宜可城这样的国际城市网络,中国地方政府可有更多机会学习德国和其他国家转型迈向可持续发展的经验。”

 

城市转型方向

在互动讨论环节上,来自中德两国的专家先后就研讨会核心提问“如何利用不同层面的转型达到城市综合全面性转型?”分享交流专业见解。

中国城市和小镇改革发展中心可持续研究院副院长白玮以广东省聚焦旧城镇、旧村庄和旧工厂的“三旧改造”计划为例,指出了城市在转型过程中发掘地方特色、重新规划空间配置和改善投资环境的重要性,并强调“能够留住人才的环境,才是让城市具有可持续性的关键。”

 

5X.png
中国城市和小镇改革发展中心可持续研究院副院长白玮

6x.png
德国联邦自然保护局Lennart Kümper-Schlake

7X.png
德国能源署中德生态城合作节能建筑项目主管叶昂

 

德国联邦自然保护局 Lennart Kümper-Schlake 指出,“绿化城市基础设施”在不少德国工业城市转型的过程中扮演了关键性的角色。他进一步解释,绿色基础设施在同时具备经济效益和多功能性方面有很大的潜力,可为城市适应气候变化、自然保护和人类健康福祉等问题提供可行的解决方案。

德国能源署中德生态城合作、中国节能建筑项目主管叶昂则特别点出定制因地制宜的综合型城市发展计划的重要性。她表示,“虽然我们的出发点是将德国和欧洲的经验带来中国,但每个城镇出发的基础并不相同,因此必须确保城镇在国际交流的过程中,找到符合地方条件和需求的措施与解决方案。”

 

工业城市转型过程的愿景、挑战和经验

中国石家庄裕华区、北京怀柔区、北京经济技术开发区(又称“北京亦庄”)、德国埃森市和莱比锡城市等联盟项目城市的代表,在研讨会上分享了他们为迈向可持续发展转型所开展的地方行动和相关经验,以及转型过程中所面临的挑战。

为应对城市发展过程中常见的空气污染和产业结构调整等问题,石家庄裕华区加大了对科技项目、科技企业和科技人才的扶持力度,并积极引导企业转型升级;北京怀柔区组织了生态环境保护专家顾问团,并有意进一步发展当地自 1995 年起逐渐兴起的影视产业。考虑到建筑既是城市的基本组成要件,也是能源消耗和温室气体排放的主体,北京经济技术开发区将发展绿色建筑定位为建设绿色新城的关键。

 

8x.png
石家庄裕华区科技局局长边庆敏

9X.png
中国北京怀柔区环境保护局党组书记鲁泰吉

10x.png
中国北京经济技术开发区建设发展局副局长刘凌

 

德国埃森市自 1950、60 年代面临矿业危机之后,将文化和知识视为城市转型的基本工具。不仅建设了包含自行车道和登山步道的工业遗产景观公园(Emscher Landscape Park),更致力于提升城市的高等教育系统。莱比锡市则在 1990 年代经历了严重的产业衰退和人口流失后,紧跟随欧洲以可持续发展为核心的城市治理政策,策略性管理城市发展规划,充分考量不同部门的需求,并制定了符合市民需求且鼓励公众参与的行动计划。

 

现场考察

当日下午,与会嘉宾们还参观了位于北京经济技术开发区的北京博大水务有限公司。该公司成立于 2008 年,致力于再生水生产、城市污水处理等领域的投资和运营管理。目前,该公司再生水供给量已占开发区总供水量的 35%。更多详情,请见会后报告

 

13x.png
与会嘉宾参访北京博大水务有限公司

14X.png
博大水务致力于再生水生产和城市污水处理

 

 

宜可城全球秘书处
Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 7
53113 Bonn
Germany
T: +49-228/97 62 99-00
F.+49-228/97 62 99-01 电邮: www.iclei.org
欧洲
欧洲秘书处
Leopoldring 3
79098 Freiburg, Germany
www.iclei-europe.org
布鲁塞尔办公室
Av. de Tervuren 35
1040 Bruxelles
Belgium
非洲
Physical address:
3 Knowledge Park
Century City
Cape Town
8001
South Africa
Postal address:
PO Box 5319
Tygervalley
7536
South Africa
africa.iclei.org
北美洲
加拿大办公室
401 Richmond St. W
Studio 204
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 3A8, Canada
www.icleicanada.org
美国办公室
536 Wynkoop St.
Suite 901
Denver, Colorado
USA 80202
www.icleiusa.org
墨西哥、中美洲和加勒比地区
墨西哥、中美洲和加勒比海区秘书处
Paseo de la Reforma 136 Piso 14 Of. B, Col. Juarez, C.P. 06600, Del. Cuauhtemoc, Ciudad de Mexico
www.iclei.org.mx
南美洲
南美洲秘书处
Rua Ibiraçu, 226, Vila Madalena
São Paulo / SP - Brazil
CEP 05451-040
americadosul.iclei.org
南亚
南亚秘书处
Ground Floor, NSIC-STP Complex NSIC Bhawan, Okhla Industrial Estate New Delhi – 110020, India
southasia.iclei.org
东亚
东亚秘书处
14/F, Seoul Global Center Building, 38 Jongno, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (110-110)
eastasia.iclei.org
日本办公室
1-14-2 Nishi-Shimbashi,
Minato-ku
Tokyo, Japan 105-0003
japan.iclei.org
韩国办公室
(16429) 3F, Suwon Research Institute,
126, Suin-ro, Gwonseon-gu, Suwon-si,
Gyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea
www.icleikorea.org
东南亚
东南亚秘书处
c/o The Manila Observatory Ateneo de Manila University Campus Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1101 Manila, Philippines
icleiseas.org
印尼项目办公室
Rasuna Office Park III WO. 06-09 Komplek Rasuna Epicentrum Jl. Taman Rasuna Selatan, Kuningan DKI Jakarta, 12960, Indonesia
大洋洲
大洋洲秘书处
Level 1, 200 Little Collins Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
www.icleioceania.org

Chinese and German UTA Cities Gathered in Beijing

The Urban Transitions Alliance China Event entitled “Industrial Legacy. Sustainable Future” was successfully held in Beijing, China on 30 October 2018, gathering 30 representatives from Chinese and German UTA participating local governments and partners to have in-depth discussions on urban transitions toward a sustainable future.

Shu Zhu, Regional Director and China Representative of ICLEI East Asia warmly greeted the guests and participants with a short welcome speech, and briefly updated the audience on the latest progress of the Urban Transitions Alliance and ICLEI.

Launched in November 2017, the Urban Transitions Alliance (UTA) is managed by ICLEI and funded by Stiftung Mercator, to present an opportunity for industrial and former industrial cities across the world to become global leaders in sustainable urban development. Up until today, 11 local governments from China, Germany, the USA, and Poland have officially joined the Alliance.

Through participating in international forums, thematic webinars, and Alliance Challenge Exchange calls coordinated under the UTA, participating local governments of the Alliance work closely to identify common challenges, share knowledge, co-create solutions and forge strong working relationships with peers, experts, and private sectors on the four core working areas of energy, mobility, infrastructure, and social transition.

 

4.JPG

Vera Rodenhoff of Germany’s Federal Ministry for the Environment,
Nature, Conservation and Nuclear Safety

Dengli Ming of Beijing Municipal Environmental Protection Bureau

 

In the opening remark, Vera Rodenhoff, Head of Division, International Cooperation on Environment, Energy and Cities; OECD and OECD-Countries, the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature, Conservation and Nuclear Safety, stressed that integrating nature into cities is not only pleasant for the residents and good for human health but also prevents negative impacts of climate change and heat-island effects. “Though at very different scales, German and Chinese industrial cities are facing some similar challenges related to climate change,” she added, “and it is valuable for both sides to learn from each other.”

Dengli Ming, Chief of the Science, Technology and International Cooperation Division, Beijing Municipal Environmental Protection Bureau, China shared the city’s 20 years of experience in air quality and environmental improvement and emphasized international cooperation as a way for local governments to learn from each other.

Many European cities have gone through industrialization a long time ago, and have entered the stage of transition toward a sustainable future. “Chinese cities, on the other hand,” Ming added, “only started industrializing three decades ago, and the process is still ongoing in many places. Through participating in networks like ICLEI, Chinese local governments are provided with opportunities to learn from experiences of cities in Germany and many other countries in the world.”

 

Defining Urban Transitions

Following the opening session, experts from China and Germany had a thorough discussion surrounding the key question of “how can the different transition dimensions be navigated in a holistic and integrated way?”

With the “Revitalizing Three Olds – old towns, old villages, and old factories” project in Guangdong Province as an example, Wei Bai from the China Center for Urban Development highlighted the importance of including urban spatial re-planning and re-distribution and improving the investment environment in urban transitional processes. “Attracting experts and professionals to stay is the key to making a city sustainable” she added.

 

5X.png
Wei Bai of the China Center for Urban Development

6x.png
Lennart Kümper-Schlake of the German Federal
Agency for Nature Conservation 

7X.png
Ang Ye of the German Energy Agency

 

Lennart Kümper-Schlake of the German Federal Agency for Nature Conservation pointed out that the greening of urban infrastructures plays a dominant role in a number of German cities’ transitions from industrial legacies. He emphasized that green infrastructures have great potential for multi-functionality and cost-effectiveness by providing cities with possible solutions to problems including climate change adaptation, nature conservation, and human well-being.

Ang Ye of the German Energy Agency (dena) highlighted the importance of developing integrated master plans for urban transitions specifically serving local needs. “While we work to introduce German and European successful cases to Chinese cities through international cooperation,’ she said, “it is important that cities and communities know their capacity and needs, so as to apply solutions accordingly and appropriately.”

 

Transition Visions, Challenges, and Learnings from Industrial Legacy Cities

On this occasion, representatives from three Chinese participating local governments of Beijing Economic-Technological Development Area (or “E-Town”), Beijing Huairou District, and Shijiazhuang Yuhua District, and two German cities of Essen and Leipzig all presented their local actions and experiences in transitioning away from industrial legacies, and exchanged the challenges they are faced with.

In face of air pollution and industry structural changes, Shijiazhuang Yuhua District expanded its support for innovative technologies, and guided upgrades of local enterprises; Beijing Huairou District formed an advisory group to formulate an implementation plan on environmental and ecological development, and is seeking to further embrace the film and television culture industry in the district originated from 1995. Beijing E-Town, on the other hand, identifies green buildings as a key area of work for their transition towards a town with high quality of life, as while buildings are basic components of cities, they are also the main bodies of energy consumption and emissions.

 

8x.png
Qingmin Bian of Shijiazhuang Yuahu District

9X.png
Taiji Lu of Beijing Huairou Distict

10x.png
Ling Liu of Beijing E-Town

 

The German city of Essen recognized culture and knowledge as the basic tools for transition following the mining industry crises back in the 1950s and 1960s. In addition to restoring protected areas such as the Emscher Landscape Park with cycling paths and hiking trails, efforts have also been paid to upscale higher education in the city. Leipzig suffered from industry collapse and serious population loss in the 1990s, but decided to follow the European approaches of urban policies for sustainable development, and manages its development through strategic planning with the needs of different sectors taken into consideration, and activities oriented towards citizens’ needs with their participation.

 

11X.png

Torsten Wilke of Leipzig

12X.png

Sebastian Schlecht of Essen

 

Site Visit

In the afternoon, participants visited the Beijing Boda Water Co. Ltd, a wastewater treatment company located in Beijing E-Town. Established in 2008, Boda Water specializes in regional wastewater treatment, water re-use, and related technology development, and produces high-quality reclaimed industrial water accounting for 35% of the total water supply in E-Town.

 

13x.png
Participants learned about the wastewater treatment system at Beijing Boda Water Co. Ltd

14X.png
High-quality reclaimed industrial water

 

For further information on the session, please download the event report.

 

ICLEI WORLD SECRETARIAT
Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 7
53113 Bonn
Germany
T: +49-228/97 62 99-00
F.+49-228/97 62 99-01 Email: www.iclei.org
EUROPE
European Secretariat
Leopoldring 3
79098 Freiburg, Germany
www.iclei-europe.org
Brussels Office
Av. de Tervuren 35
1040 Bruxelles
Belgium
Africa secretariat
Physical address:
3 Knowledge Park
Century City
Cape Town
8001
South Africa
Postal address:
PO Box 5319
Tygervalley
7536
South Africa
africa.iclei.org
north america
Canada Office
401 Richmond St. W
Studio 204
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 3A8, Canada
www.icleicanada.org
USA Office
536 Wynkoop St.
Suite 901
Denver, Colorado
USA 80202
www.icleiusa.org
MEXICO, CENTRAL AMERICA and the CARIBBEAN
Mexico, Central American and Caribbean Secretariat
Paseo de la Reforma 136 Piso 14 Of. B, Col. Juarez, C.P. 06600, Del. Cuauhtemoc, Ciudad de Mexico
www.iclei.org.mx
South America
South American Secretariat
Rua Ibiraçu, 226, Vila Madalena
São Paulo / SP - Brazil
CEP 05451-040
americadosul.iclei.org
South Asia
South Asia Secretariat
Ground Floor, NSIC-STP Complex NSIC Bhawan, Okhla Industrial Estate New Delhi – 110020, India
southasia.iclei.org
east asia
East Asia Secretariat
14/F, Seoul Global Center Building, 38 Jongno, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (110-110)
ICLEI East Asia Secretariat
Japan Office
1-14-2 Nishi-Shimbashi,
Minato-ku
Tokyo, Japan 105-0003
ICLEI Japan
Korea Office
(16429) 3F, Suwon Research Institute,
126, Suin-ro, Gwonseon-gu, Suwon-si,
Gyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea
www.icleikorea.org
southeast asia
Southeast Asia Secretariat
c/o The Manila Observatory Ateneo de Manila University Campus Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1101 Manila, Philippines
icleiseas.org
Indonesia Project Office
Rasuna Office Park III WO. 06-09 Komplek Rasuna Epicentrum Jl. Taman Rasuna Selatan, Kuningan DKI Jakarta, 12960, Indonesia
oceania
Oceania Secretariat
Level 1, 200 Little Collins Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
www.icleioceania.org
Associate Partnership
ICLEI membership application
Want to be a model?
ICLEI membership online application form