中国城市迈向气候适应

作为发展中国家的代表,中国的气候类型复杂多样,应对气候变化的脆弱性相当明显。为提升城市气候适应性,避免每年因洪涝、干旱等极端气候事件引起的灾害损失加剧,中国国家发展和改革委员会与住房和城乡建设部于 2016年联合印发了《城市适应气候变化行动方案》,并于 2017 年初公布了全国首批 28 个气候适应型城市建设试点。目前,这些试点城市正积极开展适应性建设工作。

为协助中国城市探索气候变化适应的解决方案,制定因地制宜的行动计划,宜可城东亚秘书处携手联合国减灾战略署东北亚办事处和全球教育培训研究所(UNISDR ONEA/GETI)及住房和城乡建设部科技与产业化发展中心,于 12 月 11-12 日在北京为中国城市举办了为期两天的“迈向气候适应–气候适应型城市建设培训”。

培训由宜可城东亚秘书处主任朱澍主持。住房和城乡建设部建筑节能与科技司国际处处长仝贵婵在致辞中强调了城市气候适应建设工作跨部门、跨行业的特点,希望试点城市建立有效的协调机制。国家气候中心首席专家姜彤和副研究员翟建青介绍了中国城市气候灾害风险的变化趋势,以及对 293 个城市的风险和韧性的初步评估结果。国家应对气候变化战略研究和国际合作中心政策法规部负责人杨秀分析了目前试点工作的进展和不足,并在协调机制建设、风险评估、目标和行动设定等方面对试点城市的下一步工作提出了建议。中国城市规划设计研究院水务院副总工程师任希岩阐释了城市规划和气候适应性的关系,强调了长期规划中应纳入对气候变化的考量。

 


 宜可城大洋洲秘书处主任 Steve Gawler

 

培训首日,宜可城大洋洲秘书处主任 Steve Gawler 作为培训专家向中国城市介绍了宜可城气候适应型城市方法学和工具,德国国际合作机构(GIZ)技术顾问蔡含多和瑞士驻华大使馆国家项目官员霍莉分别分享了国际气候适应案例。另外,气候适应型城市建设试点广元市、合肥市和常德市也分享了各自在适应气候变化领域的方针和措施。

Steve Gawler 在城市整合型气候行动领域有丰富的工作经验,曾协助多个印度尼西亚城市和亚洲大小城镇统筹设计气候变化和灾害风险减少项目,和执行城市低碳发展项目。他首先为参与培训的 15 个中国城市代表们梳理了气候减缓、气候适应和城市韧性等概念,及其彼此间的相互关联,并通过宜可城气候适应型城市(ICLEI Climate Adaptive Cities)方法学,由浅入深,逐步带领地方政府代表分析他们所在城市当前面临的气候变化挑战和潜在风险。

 


城市代表通过宜可城气候适应型城市方法学,重新检视地方面临的气候威胁

 

宜可城气候适应性城市包含分析、行动、加速等三大模块,底下再细分为九大步骤和数十个分解行动。Steve Gawler 表示,地方政府往往需花费数月,乃至数年的时间才能走完全部流程。一个上午的培训课程虽仅够地方政府代表们对其城市当前所面临的困境进行初步分析,但过程中,已促使城市代表们重新思考地方的气候威胁,以及在制定气候变化适应行动时,应参与协调的政府单位与人员,和应咨询的利益相关方。

 


UNISDR 的 Ana Cristina Thorlund 指导城市代表使用韧性城市记分卡工具

 

培训次日由联合国减灾战略署东北亚办事处和全球教育培训研究所(UNISDR)的 Ana Cristina Thorlund 介绍“让城市更具韧性”活动,并逐步指导地方政府代表学习使用联合国减灾署所开发的韧性城市记分卡工具。通过实际练习和充分的小组讨论,参与培训的城市代表不仅得以认识新工具,更有机会与其他城市进行交流,在迈向气候适应的路上,相互扶持和分享经验。

宜可城东亚秘书处未来将持续为中国地方政府提供气候适应相关能力建设培训,并走进地方,协助城市制定符合地方需求的气候变化适应行动,并促进中国城市和国外城市在气候适应型城市建设方面的经验交流。

 


城市代表通过小组讨论和工作操作,重新检视地方的气候适应性和城市韧性

 

 

宜可城全球秘书处
Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 7
53113 Bonn
Germany
T: +49-228/97 62 99-00
F.+49-228/97 62 99-01 电邮: www.iclei.org
欧洲
欧洲秘书处
Leopoldring 3
79098 Freiburg, Germany
www.iclei-europe.org
布鲁塞尔办公室
Av. de Tervuren 35
1040 Bruxelles
Belgium
非洲
Physical address:
3 Knowledge Park
Century City
Cape Town
8001
South Africa
Postal address:
PO Box 5319
Tygervalley
7536
South Africa
africa.iclei.org
北美洲
加拿大办公室
401 Richmond St. W
Studio 204
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 3A8, Canada
www.icleicanada.org
美国办公室
536 Wynkoop St.
Suite 901
Denver, Colorado
USA 80202
www.icleiusa.org
墨西哥、中美洲和加勒比地区
墨西哥、中美洲和加勒比海区秘书处
Paseo de la Reforma 136 Piso 14 Of. B, Col. Juarez, C.P. 06600, Del. Cuauhtemoc, Ciudad de Mexico
www.iclei.org.mx
南美洲
南美洲秘书处
Rua Ibiraçu, 226, Vila Madalena
São Paulo / SP - Brazil
CEP 05451-040
americadosul.iclei.org
南亚
南亚秘书处
Ground Floor, NSIC-STP Complex NSIC Bhawan, Okhla Industrial Estate New Delhi – 110020, India
southasia.iclei.org
东亚
东亚秘书处
14/F, Seoul Global Center Building, 38 Jongno, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (110-110)
eastasia.iclei.org
日本办公室
1-14-2 Nishi-Shimbashi,
Minato-ku
Tokyo, Japan 105-0003
japan.iclei.org
韩国办公室
(16429) 3F, Suwon Research Institute,
126, Suin-ro, Gwonseon-gu, Suwon-si,
Gyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea
www.icleikorea.org
东南亚
东南亚秘书处
c/o The Manila Observatory Ateneo de Manila University Campus Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1101 Manila, Philippines
icleiseas.org
印尼项目办公室
Rasuna Office Park III WO. 06-09 Komplek Rasuna Epicentrum Jl. Taman Rasuna Selatan, Kuningan DKI Jakarta, 12960, Indonesia
大洋洲
大洋洲秘书处
Level 1, 200 Little Collins Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
www.icleioceania.org

Chinese Cities moving towards Climate Adaptation

As a representative of developing countries, climate patterns in China are complex and diverse, and climate vulnerability is intensified. In order to enhance urban climate adaptation and avoid annual natural disaster losses caused by extreme weather such as floods and droughts, the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) and the Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development (MOHURD) jointly issued the “Urban Climate Change Action Plan” in 2016, and announced the first group of 28 climate-adaptation pilot cities in the country in the following year. The pilot cities are now actively working on climate adaptation works.

To support Chinese cities in exploring climate adaptation solutions and developing action plans based on local needs, ICLEI East Asia, the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction for Northeast Asia and Global Education and Training Institute (UNISDR ONEA/GETI), and the Center for Technology and Industrialised Development of the Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development of PRC, jointly organized a two-day training “Toward Climate Adaptation – Urban Climate Adaptation Training for Chinese Cities” in Beijing on 11-12 December.

The training was moderated by Shu Zhu, Director of ICLEI East Asia. Guichan Tong, Director of the Center for Technology and Industrialization Development, MOHURD, gave the opening speech and highlighted the characteristics of cross-sectoral and cross-industrial work of urban climate adaptation, encouraging pilot cities to establish effective coordination mechanisms.

Tong Jian, Chief Expert, and Jiangqing Zhai, Associate Researcher from the National Climate Center, gave a joint speech on the trend of urban climate disaster risks and preliminary assessments of risks and resilience of 293 cities in China. Xiu Yang, Principal of the Department of Policy and Regulation of the National Center for Climate Change Strategy and International Cooperation (NCSC), analyzed the progress and deficiencies of current pilot works and gave further advice to the pilot cities in terms of coordination mechanism construction, risk assessment, objectives and action settings. Xiyan Ren, Deputy Chief Engineer of the Water Resources Institute of China City Development Academy, explained the relationship between urban planning and climate adaptation and emphasized that consideration of climate change should be included in long-term urban planning.

On the first day of training, Steve Gawler, Director of ICLEI Oceania, introduced ICLEI’s methodologies and tools for climate adaptation to Chinese cities. Handuo Cai, Technical Consultant of GIZ, and Li Huo, Program Officer of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation shared case studies of climate adaptation. In addition, representatives from climate adaptation pilot cities of Guangyuan, Hefei, and Changde also shared the policies and measures for climate adaptation they have introduced locally.

 

3X.png
Steve Gawler, Director of ICLEI Oceania, explained the differences between climate mitigation, climate adaptation and urban resilience.

 

Steve Gawler has extensive experience in urban climate actions and has supported several Indonesian and Asian local governments in designing integrated climate change and disaster risk reduction programs and implementing urban low-carbon development projects.

In supporting the city representatives to better understand the concept, Gawler firstly gave an in-depth explanation of the differences between climate mitigation, climate adaptation, and urban resilience, and their inter-linkages. Then, he introduced the methodology of ICLEI Climate Adaptive Cities and guided the representatives to, step by step, analyze the climate change challenges and potential risks their cities are currently facing.

 

chinese cities
City representatives re-analyzed the local climate threats and challenges through ICLEI Climate Adaptative Cities.

 

ICLEI Climate Adaptive Cities contains three modules: Analysis, Action, and Acceleration which could be subdivided into nine major steps and dozens of decompositions. Gawler said that it is normal for local governments to take months, or years, to go through the entire process. While the half-day training could only provide a preliminary analysis of the current dilemmas local governments are faced with, the session has prompted the representatives to rethink the climate threats and reconsider the entities and personnel to be involved, and the stakeholders to be consulted in developing of local climate change adaptation plans.

 

5X.png
Ana Cristina Thorlund from UNISDR ONEA/GETI introduced the Disaster Resilience Scorecard for Cities developed by UNISDR.

 

On the second day, Ana Cristina Thorlund from UNISDR ONEA-GETI introduced the “Making Cities More Resilient” campaign to the representatives, along with the Disaster Resilience Scorecard for Cities developed by UNISDR. Through practices and group discussions, city representatives had not only learned to use new tools but had also networked with participants from other cities.

ICLEI East Asia will continue to provide Chinese local governments with training and capacity buildings on climate adaptation. By walking into local communities, ICLEI East Asia will assist cities in formulating climate change adaptation actions based on local needs, foster knowledge exchange, and support international cooperation in moving towards climate-resilient cities.

 

6X.png
Through practices and group discussions, city representatives were guided to rethink their local climate risks.

 

ICLEI WORLD SECRETARIAT
Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 7
53113 Bonn
Germany
T: +49-228/97 62 99-00
F.+49-228/97 62 99-01 Email: www.iclei.org
EUROPE
European Secretariat
Leopoldring 3
79098 Freiburg, Germany
www.iclei-europe.org
Brussels Office
Av. de Tervuren 35
1040 Bruxelles
Belgium
Africa secretariat
Physical address:
3 Knowledge Park
Century City
Cape Town
8001
South Africa
Postal address:
PO Box 5319
Tygervalley
7536
South Africa
africa.iclei.org
north america
Canada Office
401 Richmond St. W
Studio 204
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 3A8, Canada
www.icleicanada.org
USA Office
536 Wynkoop St.
Suite 901
Denver, Colorado
USA 80202
www.icleiusa.org
MEXICO, CENTRAL AMERICA and the CARIBBEAN
Mexico, Central American and Caribbean Secretariat
Paseo de la Reforma 136 Piso 14 Of. B, Col. Juarez, C.P. 06600, Del. Cuauhtemoc, Ciudad de Mexico
www.iclei.org.mx
South America
South American Secretariat
Rua Ibiraçu, 226, Vila Madalena
São Paulo / SP - Brazil
CEP 05451-040
americadosul.iclei.org
South Asia
South Asia Secretariat
Ground Floor, NSIC-STP Complex NSIC Bhawan, Okhla Industrial Estate New Delhi – 110020, India
southasia.iclei.org
east asia
East Asia Secretariat
14/F, Seoul Global Center Building, 38 Jongno, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (110-110)
ICLEI East Asia Secretariat
Japan Office
1-14-2 Nishi-Shimbashi,
Minato-ku
Tokyo, Japan 105-0003
ICLEI Japan
Korea Office
(16429) 3F, Suwon Research Institute,
126, Suin-ro, Gwonseon-gu, Suwon-si,
Gyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea
www.icleikorea.org
southeast asia
Southeast Asia Secretariat
c/o The Manila Observatory Ateneo de Manila University Campus Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1101 Manila, Philippines
icleiseas.org
Indonesia Project Office
Rasuna Office Park III WO. 06-09 Komplek Rasuna Epicentrum Jl. Taman Rasuna Selatan, Kuningan DKI Jakarta, 12960, Indonesia
oceania
Oceania Secretariat
Level 1, 200 Little Collins Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
www.icleioceania.org
Associate Partnership
ICLEI membership application
Want to be a model?
ICLEI membership online application form