在城市更新中应用基于自然的解决方案可借鉴的关键要点

“在全球面对气候变化的情况下,提升城市韧性,实现低碳、绿色和可持续发展,已成为各国共同追求的目标。城市更新也从最初的改善基础建设与功能和优化环境,逐步升级为可持续发展的综合战略规划,从而将城市的社会经济发展、生态建设、防灾减灾与应对气候变化等多重发展目标协同起来,”中国住房和城乡建设部科技发展促进中心副处长彭梦月在 10 月 23 日的雄心城市峰会边会活动开幕致辞中强调。

高速的城市化进程创造了愈来愈多的机会,却也同时加速了环境恶化和气候变化为城市地区带来挑战和风险。为应对这些问题,包括中国和德国在内的许多国家,正全力支持他们的城市和社区迈向创新的转型与复兴,以提升城市的可持续性、韧性和宜居性。

德国国际合作机构驻华代表处项目主任 Markus Delfs 表示,“通过将空间政策与气候政策、栖息地保护和提升宜居性的行动建立联系,转型更新的过程可为城市带来更广阔的机遇。”

每个地方行动或多或少都会成为实现国家规划和战略不可或缺的中流砥柱。德国和中国已分别以 2050 和 2060 年为目标,作出了实现碳中和的承诺。因此,城市的行动,对于两国实现雄心目标而言,更是至关重要。对此,德国国际合作机构中德城镇化伙伴关系项目顾问 Daniel Krahl 进一步表示,“在城市更新中应用基于自然的解决方案恰好可成为一大重要尝试。”

确实,“自然是应对城市挑战、让城市找回宜居性与韧性的关键,”宜可城东亚秘书处主任兼中国首席代表朱澍表示。虽然“基于自然的解决方案”一词已在欧洲获得广泛讨论,但在中国这个概念直到近年来才逐渐开始受到关注。

在此背景下,宜可城东亚秘书处北京代表处和德国国际合作机构(GIZ)共同在 2020 雄心城市全球峰会的框架下,举办了“通过基于自然的解决方案实现可持续城市更新:中德城市经验分享线上研讨会,为来自两国的政策制定者与实践者提供交流空间,深入探索在城市发展和更新过程中,应用基于自然的解决方案的可能性。该研讨会吸引了 120 余名来自全球不同区域的观众在线参与。

会上,来自中国成都市佛山市、德国曼海姆市汉堡市的代表, 分享了各自城市将基于自然的解决方案应用于城市更新的实践。这些城市的经验可整理归纳成下列关键要点:

 

1. 全面性的城市战略和总体规划可为在城市更新中整合与实践基于自然的解决方案,提供最有效的指南。

生态危机、应对气候变化和城市更新皆是跨不同领域的议题,需要城市采取全面性的可持续发展与修复战略。上述四个城市的经验,也证明了在城市层级制定的全面性战略和总体规划,可为在城市更新中有效应用基于自然的解决方案提供坚实的基础。

例如,成都公园城市的建设规划通过将生态价值与自然保护纳入发展规划,成为提升城市整体可持续性的关键转捩点。作为新时代城市可持续发展的新模式,该规划的目标不仅是在城市中增建公园绿地,更要以生态为本底,将公园型态与城市空间进行有机融合,在公园中建设城市,促进形成集约高效的生产空间、宜居舒适的生活空间、山清水秀的生态空间,在高质量发展中,为居民提供高品质的生活环境。

其中,在公园城市建设规划下开展的中心老城区改造项目“天府锦城“,旨在将现代化的生活模式带入历史城区中。该项目以成都市老城区 13.6 平方公里的几何中心区块为核心,将千年历史长河中的文化元素和资源,融入城市更新的过程中,在传承老城空间格局的同时,为公众提供更多绿地和开放空间。另外,该项目规划中所包含的步道网络,目前也正兴建中。完工后,步道将串连天府锦城区内所有的历史景点和绿色空间。

 

     城市更新
天府锦城规划  / 来源:成都市规划设计研究院

 

2. 总体战略和个别项目,皆须考量基于自然的解决方案可带来的协同效益。

在城市更新中应用基于自然的解决方案,不仅可为缓解和适应气候变化作出重要贡献,更可助力达成振兴经济、增强社会包容性和环境保护等协同效益。

例如,曼海姆市将城市绿化和适应气候变化纳入该市的可持续发展长期战略中。坐落于德国西南部的曼海姆市长年面临热浪、暴雨和风暴的袭击。因此,为将新鲜空气引入市区,达成天然降温的效果,曼海姆市积极推进绿化密封区域和棕地的工作,以填补城市绿化带的断层和空缺。

为使行动的成效最大化,该市还启动了“曼海姆制造绿色空间(Mannheim Makes Room for Green)”倡议,在社区层级动员市民们团结力量、共同行动。通过公众教育培训,让市民了解绿色花园可为提升地方气候韧性所作出的贡献,并鼓励居民在自家前院种植绿色植物、打造花园空间,或在可能的情况下,进一步绿化屋顶和房屋外墙。通过这些过程,曼海姆也获得了更佳的空气质量和更紧密的社区凝聚力。

 

协同效益
曼海姆刘易斯公园  / 来源:Markus_KF at Pixabay

 

3. 城市更新应以人文本,而基于自然的解决方案可助力将自然带进城市,为居民提供宜居的生活环境。

城市更新工作的一大目标,在于改造和更新某个特定区域,使该空间为人们的生活和工作提供良好的体验。而基于自然的解决方案,正有助于通过将大自然融入城市更新项目中,为居民提供更加健康和宜居的环境。

佛山为例,在中国政府 2019 年提出的粤港澳大湾区发展战略的背景下,该市提出了三龙湾高端创新集聚区的城市规划方案,旨在将该区翻新重建为现代岭南水乡之城。地处珠三角北部,三龙湾坐拥四周丰富的园林和耕地等绿地资源,而该区由大小河流交织而成的水系网络,其密集度更是高于当地的道路网络体系。

考量当地的生态资源与价值,同时强调面向人本需求的都市规划,三龙湾城市规划采用了“岛式城市”的概念,旨在修复并善用当地发达的水系,构建水上的城市客货运输网络。这不仅将可助力减少道路交通的压力,更可将更多路面空间提供给公众使用。该项目也规划了沿河道两岸建设生态廊道,形成蓝绿融合的带状公园系统,为居民提供休憩和慢行交通的空间,并且在步行范围内可获得充分的公共服务。

 

Foshan Water Network.jpg   
三龙湾的水系网络  / 来源:佛山市中德工业服务区(三龙湾)管理委员会

 

4. 应精心设计融资机制和工具,以确保在城市更新中应用的基于自然的解决方案,得以付诸于实践。

除了总体战略规划和对于协同效益的完善考量,要在城市中落实应用基于自然的解决方案,还需要良好而切实可行的融资机制。

德国汉堡市较早提出了以综合且环保的方式推进城市发展,自 1920 年代首次提出“绿色基础设施”的概念以来,在过去一百年间投入了大量心力,积极建设和扩展该市的“汉堡绿色网络(Green Network of Hamburg)”。该网络包含了三个要素:12 个由市中心延伸至外围郊区的绿轴、长达 100 公里的绿色内环,以及散布在城市各处的绿色公园与娱乐休闲空间。

为保护并确保这些城市绿色空间的可持续性,汉堡市特别开发了融资工具 Naturcent,通过向位于高生态价值地区进行的开发项目征收生态补偿金,并将该资金投入支持城市绿色空间的生态维护工作。截至 2020 年,Naturcent 平均每年可收取约三百万欧元的资金,用于城市绿化工作。

同时, 鉴于屋顶绿化改造可带来的巨大潜力,汉堡市更是通过其“屋顶绿化战略(Hamburg Green Roof Strategy)”筹集资金,为市民提供培训和财政支持,提升住宅和工业建筑安装绿色屋顶和外墙的比率。

 

屋顶绿化战略
汉堡绿色网络概念图  / 来源:汉堡市政府

5. 建立保障机制是在城市更新中应用基于自然的解决方案至关重要的环节。

回应四个城市分享的案例经验,中国城市规划设计研究院城市更新研究所副所长范嗣斌特别提出,为达成以基于自然的解决方案实现城市更新的愿景,预防和应对可能遇见的挑战和瓶颈,城市还需要针对法规、行政、管理、实施和利益协商体系,建立长效的保障机制。

而德国联邦自然保护局国际自然保护处副处长 Lennart Kümper-Schlake 则进一步指出,若应用错误或未具备充分的生态学知识,基于自然的解决方案也可能造成反效果。因此,城市在采用这些方案时,还应将具体的权衡措施纳入考量。

基于自然的解决方案将是 2021 年于中国云南省昆明市举办的《生物多样性公约》第十五次缔约方大会(CBD COP-15)的一大关注议题。宜可城将持续携手合作伙伴和相关利益方,巩固发展势头,促进基于自然的解决方案在城市可持续发展中获得更广泛应用,使它们不再只是示范模型,而是在主流上成为默认既定的解决方案。

 

 

研讨会材料
英文活动报告 
– 研讨会视屏 / 无同传原版  •  英文版 •  中文版

 

 

宜可城全球秘书处
Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 7
53113 Bonn
Germany
T: +49-228/97 62 99-00
F.+49-228/97 62 99-01 电邮: www.iclei.org
欧洲
欧洲秘书处
Leopoldring 3
79098 Freiburg, Germany
www.iclei-europe.org
布鲁塞尔办公室
Av. de Tervuren 35
1040 Bruxelles
Belgium
非洲
Physical address:
3 Knowledge Park
Century City
Cape Town
8001
South Africa
Postal address:
PO Box 5319
Tygervalley
7536
South Africa
africa.iclei.org
北美洲
加拿大办公室
401 Richmond St. W
Studio 204
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 3A8, Canada
www.icleicanada.org
美国办公室
536 Wynkoop St.
Suite 901
Denver, Colorado
USA 80202
www.icleiusa.org
墨西哥、中美洲和加勒比地区
墨西哥、中美洲和加勒比海区秘书处
Paseo de la Reforma 136 Piso 14 Of. B, Col. Juarez, C.P. 06600, Del. Cuauhtemoc, Ciudad de Mexico
www.iclei.org.mx
南美洲
南美洲秘书处
Rua Ibiraçu, 226, Vila Madalena
São Paulo / SP - Brazil
CEP 05451-040
americadosul.iclei.org
南亚
南亚秘书处
Ground Floor, NSIC-STP Complex NSIC Bhawan, Okhla Industrial Estate New Delhi – 110020, India
southasia.iclei.org
东亚
东亚秘书处
14/F, Seoul Global Center Building, 38 Jongno, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (110-110)
eastasia.iclei.org
日本办公室
1-14-2 Nishi-Shimbashi,
Minato-ku
Tokyo, Japan 105-0003
japan.iclei.org
韩国办公室
(16429) 3F, Suwon Research Institute,
126, Suin-ro, Gwonseon-gu, Suwon-si,
Gyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea
www.icleikorea.org
东南亚
东南亚秘书处
c/o The Manila Observatory Ateneo de Manila University Campus Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1101 Manila, Philippines
icleiseas.org
印尼项目办公室
Rasuna Office Park III WO. 06-09 Komplek Rasuna Epicentrum Jl. Taman Rasuna Selatan, Kuningan DKI Jakarta, 12960, Indonesia
大洋洲
大洋洲秘书处
Level 1, 200 Little Collins Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
www.icleioceania.org

Key takeaways for cities to employ nature-based solutions in urban renewal

“With increasing urban resilience, and achieving low carbon and sustainable development becoming a global goal, the concept of urban renewal has gradually evolved from improving infrastructure and environment in cities to integrated planning that synergizes multiple objectives including ecological building, disaster prevention and mitigation, climate change adaptation, as well as social and economic development,” said Mengyue Peng, Deputy Director of the Center of Science and Technical and Industrialization Development, Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development (MoHURD) of China, in her opening statement at a Daring Cities 2020 session on 23 October.

Rapid urbanization has brought an increasing number of opportunities, but it has also escalated the impact of environmental degradation and climate change, posing challenges and threats to urban areas. To tackle these problems, many countries, including China and Germany, are endeavoring to support the innovative transformation and regeneration of their cities and communities to become more sustainable, resilient, and livable.

“Urban renewal could bring cross-cutting opportunities for cities by connecting spatial policies with actions to combat climate change, protect habitat, and enhance the livability of cities,” said Markus Delfs, Head of Cluster Sustainable Transition of GIZ China.

In particular, with Germany and China having set their national targets to achieve carbon neutrality by 2050 and 2060 respectively, and local actions being the cornerstones of every national plan at some point, engaging cities’ efforts has become indispensable for both countries to reach their climate goals, said Dr. Daniel Krahl, Advisor of SGUP Liaison Office, GIZ. “And using nature-based solutions in urban renewal can be one of the major attempts doing so,” he added.

Indeed, nature has been the root and one of the keys to tackling urban challenges, and bringing livability and resilience back to our cities, said Shu Zhu, Regional Director of ICLEI East Asia. But even though the concept of nature-based solutions has been widely discussed in Europe, it is not until recently that the term was brought to the table in China.

Under such background, ICLEI East Asia and GIZ’s Sino-German Urbanisation Partnership co-hosted the Daring Cities session “Chinese – German Knowledge Exchange on Sustainable Development and Urban Renewal”, providing a space for policymakers and practitioners in the two countries to further explore how nature-based solutions can be integrated into urban development and renewal processes. The event attracted around 120 online participants from different time zones.

On this occasion, representatives from Chengdu, Foshan, Mannheim, and Hamburg showcased how their cities are integrating nature-based solutions into urban renewal processes. Some of the key takeaways from their experiences include:

 

1. A city-wide strategy and comprehensive overall planning can serve as the most effective guideline for the integration and implementation of nature-based solutions in urban renewal.  

The ecological crisis, climate change, and urban renewal are all cross-cutting issues, and they require cities to take collective actions directed by a city-wide sustainable recovery strategy. The experiences from the four cities reaffirmed that a city-wide strategy and comprehensive overall planning can provide a solid foundation for integrating nature-based solutions into urban renewal.

For example, Chengdu’s Park City Initiative is providing the city with a critical turning point to scale up its sustainability by embedding ecological values and nature conservation into development. Rather than simply creating green spaces and parks in the city, the Initiative aims to build a “city within a park” and create livable spaces for people by highlighting spatial functionality and inclusiveness, where innovative technologies, operations, and models could continue to revive and thrive.

Under the city-led Initiative, the central old district renovation project Tianfu Jincheng is designated to showcase a modernized lifestyle embedded in a historic district. Focusing on a 13.6 km2 area in Chengdu’s old city center, the project aims to integrate and embed the region’s cultural elements and resources into the renewal process and return and create green spaces for people while inheriting the city’s historical spatial pattern. In addition, a network of walking paths that connects all historical and green spots has also been included in the plan and is currently under construction.

 

     Tianfu-03.jpg
Planning of Tianfu Jincheng.  Source: Institute of Planning and Design, Chengdu

 

2. Co-benefits of nature-based solutions should be considered and included in both the overall strategy and individual project activities.

Adopting nature-based solutions in urban renewal is crucial for climate change mitigation and adaptation, and can help create synergies in reviving the economy, enhancing social inclusion and efforts on environmental protection.

Mannheim, for instance, has taken great consideration of urban greening and climate change adaptation in its long-term sustainable development strategy. Located in the southwestern part of Germany, the city has been suffering from heat waves, heavy rainfall, and storms. Thus, to bring in fresh air and naturally cool down the city, Mannheim is eagerly closing the remaining gaps in the green belts by greening up its sealed areas and brownfields.

To maximize the efforts, the city is also mobilizing citizens’ collective efforts at the community level via the Mannheim Makes Room for Green campaign. By providing training on how having green gardens can help improve local climate resilience, the Municipality is actively encouraging its citizens to bring greenery to front yards, or further green up their roofs and facades if possible. Through these processes, Mannheim has also seen improved air quality and enhanced community solidarity.

 

Luisenpark_Pixabay_Markus KF.jpg
Luisenpark in Mannheim  Source: Markus_KF at Pixabay

 

3. Urban renewal projects should be people-oriented, and nature-based solutions allow them to incorporate nature into cities, providing a livable environment for residents.

One of the primary purposes of urban renewal is to transform and regenerate a given area, making it a place that could offer positive urban experiences for people to live and work in. And the use of nature-based solutions can allow renewal projects to better incorporate nature into the urban fabric, providing the inhabitants a healthy and livable environment.

In the case of Foshan, China, the city has recently launched a new urban planning project to regenerate the Sanlongwan floodplain into a modernized Lingnan Water Village. Located in the north section of the Pearl River Delta, Sanlongwan is surrounded by rivers and farmlands and has a water network a lot denser than the road network.

Taking such local ecological resources and values into full consideration, together with a highlight on people-oriented urban planning, the Sanlongwan Urban Planning project is adopting the “Island City” concept, aiming to restore and utilize the water system by building up a water transport network. This would not only help reduce traffic congestion on the road, but would also allow more spaces to be provided to the public. In particular, the project has also included the creation of a green corridor network along the waterside for inhabitants to enjoy slow mobility in their everyday lives, and access fundamental facilities and services within walking distance.

 

Foshan Water Network.jpg   
Water Network in Sanlongwan.  Source: Sino-German Industrial Service Zone (Sanlongwan) Management Committee

 

4. Financing mechanisms and tools should be well designed to ensure nature-based solutions integrated into urban renewals can be put into practice.

In addition to an overall strategy and well consideration of the co-benefits, integrating nature-based solutions in the urban fabric also requires good and realistic financing mechanisms to make it possible.

The German city Hamburg took an earlier start in promoting urban development in an integrated and more environmental-friendly manner. With the concept of “green infrastructure” first brought up in the 1920s, the city has spent the past century creating and expanding its Green Network of Hamburg, which is consisted of 12 landscape axes, a 100km-long green inner ring, and additional green parks and recreational spaces scattered throughout the city.

To preserve and ensure the sustainability of these green spaces, Hamburg developed the financing tool Naturcent, which is operated by collecting compensation surcharges from development projects carried out in areas of high ecological value and directing these financial resources into supporting the ecological maintenance work of green spaces in the city. As of 2020, Naturcent has been able to collect an average of 3 million Euros per annum.

In the meantime, seeing the great potential for green roof retrofit, the city has also mobilized funds through its Hamburg Green Roof Strategy, providing training and financial support to upscale the installation of green roofs and facades among residential and industrial housings.

 

Hamburg-01.jpg
The Concept of the Green Network of Hamburg.   Source: City of Hamburg

5. Safeguarding mechanisms for using nature-based solutions in urban renewal are critical.

Reflecting on the cities’ experience-sharing, Sibin Fan, Deputy Director of the Urban Renewal Institute at the China Academy of Urban Planning and Design, reminded that, to counter any possible challenges and bottlenecks related to the urban renewal projects, it is important for cities to develop safeguarding mechanism on the regulation, administration, management, implementation systems, as well as among the stakeholder groups.

Adding to that, Lennart Kümper-Schlake of the German Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN) also pointed out that nature-based solutions could fall back and lead to perverse effects if applied wrong or without adequate knowledge from the ecological perspective, and accentuated the importance of cities to look at specific safeguards for possible trade-offs when applying.

As the nature-based solution will be one of the priorities in the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) COP 15 to be held in Kunming, China in 2021, ICLEI, together with all partners and stakeholders, will seize the momentum to further promote the up-scaling of nature-based solutions in urban sustainable development, making them default solutions instead of exemplary models.

 

 

Webinar Materials
Event Report 
– Webinar Recordings / Original  •  English •  Chinese

 

ICLEI WORLD SECRETARIAT
Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 7
53113 Bonn
Germany
T: +49-228/97 62 99-00
F.+49-228/97 62 99-01 Email: www.iclei.org
EUROPE
European Secretariat
Leopoldring 3
79098 Freiburg, Germany
www.iclei-europe.org
Brussels Office
Av. de Tervuren 35
1040 Bruxelles
Belgium
Africa secretariat
Physical address:
3 Knowledge Park
Century City
Cape Town
8001
South Africa
Postal address:
PO Box 5319
Tygervalley
7536
South Africa
africa.iclei.org
north america
Canada Office
401 Richmond St. W
Studio 204
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 3A8, Canada
www.icleicanada.org
USA Office
536 Wynkoop St.
Suite 901
Denver, Colorado
USA 80202
www.icleiusa.org
MEXICO, CENTRAL AMERICA and the CARIBBEAN
Mexico, Central American and Caribbean Secretariat
Paseo de la Reforma 136 Piso 14 Of. B, Col. Juarez, C.P. 06600, Del. Cuauhtemoc, Ciudad de Mexico
www.iclei.org.mx
South America
South American Secretariat
Rua Ibiraçu, 226, Vila Madalena
São Paulo / SP - Brazil
CEP 05451-040
americadosul.iclei.org
South Asia
South Asia Secretariat
Ground Floor, NSIC-STP Complex NSIC Bhawan, Okhla Industrial Estate New Delhi – 110020, India
southasia.iclei.org
east asia
East Asia Secretariat
14/F, Seoul Global Center Building, 38 Jongno, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (110-110)
ICLEI East Asia Secretariat
Japan Office
1-14-2 Nishi-Shimbashi,
Minato-ku
Tokyo, Japan 105-0003
ICLEI Japan
Korea Office
(16429) 3F, Suwon Research Institute,
126, Suin-ro, Gwonseon-gu, Suwon-si,
Gyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea
www.icleikorea.org
southeast asia
Southeast Asia Secretariat
c/o The Manila Observatory Ateneo de Manila University Campus Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1101 Manila, Philippines
icleiseas.org
Indonesia Project Office
Rasuna Office Park III WO. 06-09 Komplek Rasuna Epicentrum Jl. Taman Rasuna Selatan, Kuningan DKI Jakarta, 12960, Indonesia
oceania
Oceania Secretariat
Level 1, 200 Little Collins Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
www.icleioceania.org
Associate Partnership
ICLEI membership application
Want to be a model?
ICLEI membership online application form