2018 世界循环经济论坛在日本横滨盛大召开

循环经济措施有助于世界应对气候变化挑战、环境污染、失业等问题。 强而有力的政商领导和紧密合作,可带领社会摆脱当前的线性经济发展模式;而城市间的互助合作和经验学习,可有效促进循环经济的落地实践。第二届世界循环经济论坛于 2018 年 10 月 22-24 日在日本横滨隆重举行。作为全球最大的城市和地方政府可持续发展合作组织与网络,宜可城积极参加了今年的论坛,并强调了地方政府在推动循环经济转型中的地位与角色。

芬兰创新基金 Sitra 和日本政府环境省联合主办的第二届世界循环经济论坛(WCEF),是循环经济领域最大的全球性活动,齐聚 1,100 多名来自超过 70 个国家的专家和行动变革者,深度探讨交流全球循环经济的发展和愿景。

来自日本、芬兰、欧盟执委会、全球环境基金,经济合作与发展组织和联合国环境署的代表接二连三于论坛开幕式上强调,循环经济是实现“巴黎协定”和可持续发展目标的主要路径。欧盟委员会副主席 Jyrki Katainen 更表示“循环经济是应对气候变化的支柱”,并呼吁全球公私部门就循环经济议题开展紧密合作。

 

2.jpg
日本横滨市长林文子(Fumiko Hayashi)于开幕式上致欢迎辞 ©Yuki Kato

 

活跃于宜可城全球可持续发展网络的横滨市,是仅次于东京的日本第二大城市。作为论坛地主城市首长,横滨市市长林文子(Fumiko Hayashi)亲自出席了第二届世界循环经济论坛,并于开幕式上展示了该市政府为减少垃圾和食物浪费所采取的行动,并与来自世界各地的地方政府分享横滨市多年来积累的宝贵经验和启示。

2018 世界循环经济论坛获得了数项重要成果:

  • 日本环境部与芬兰环境部签署了关于气候变化和环境崩溃的环境合作备忘录;
  • 日本首相安倍晋三宣布,日本将率先在循环经济议题作为国际社会的领头羊,并将于 2019 年当值 G20 轮值主席国期间,积极推动塑料废物、海洋污染、气候变化和生物多样性等环境挑战的全球性倡议;
  • 芬兰创新基金 Sitra 发布的《世界循环经济论坛 2050 年展望》(WCEF Visions 2050)概述循环经济将如何为人类在自然资源、制造、运输、服务、食品、生活、塑料等层面面临的威胁和挑战,提供可行的解决方案。

 

芬兰和日本签订环境合作谅解备忘录

芬兰有志在 2025 年前实现碳中和,并成为全球循环经济的先行者 。 2016 年,在芬兰创新基金 Sitra 和各利益相关方的支持与合作下,芬兰国家政府颁布了《引领循环:芬兰的 2010-2025 循环经济路线图》(Leading the Cycle – Finnish Road Map to a Circular Economy 2010-2025)。其中,该路线图将“举办世界循环经济论坛”视为促进全球循环经济合作和联合行动的一项重要举措。

长期以来,日本在积极提倡“3R(减量、再利用、再循环)”和“循環型社会、もったいない(即循环经济)“等议题领域担任先锋者。继 2001 年《循環型社会形成推進基本法》和 2003 年《循环型社会形成推进基本计划》,日本政府又于 2018 年颁布《第四次循环型社会形成推进基本计划》, 进一步增强推进循环经济的方法。作为 2020 东京奥运会和残奥会的东道主以及 2019 年 G20 轮值主席国,日本将持续引领世界走向更可持续和循环的未来。

日本环境省和芬兰环境部签署的环境合作备忘录表明,二国将寻求在气候变化和处理环境危机方面进一步的密切合作。

 

3.jpg
芬兰环境部部长 Kimmo Tiilikainen 和日本环境大臣原田義昭(Yoshiaki Harada)签订两国环境合作备忘录 ©Tatsuya Hirota

 

循环经济促进环境和可持续发展

为期三天的论坛包含了数场全体大会和平行会议。 在“城市的循环食物系统”平行会议环节上,横滨市政府资源循环局长福山一男(Kazuo Fukuyama)分享了该市通过提高公众意识、环境教育活动,以及与利益相关者共同努力, 目标于 2021 年前减少 20% 的餐厨垃圾。 宜可城东亚秘书处项目官员楊筠作为与谈人,在环节上介绍了宜可城今年新开展的倡议“绿色循环城市联盟”。她强调,制定因地制宜的政策和制度环境、强化信息透明度,、以及地方政府的大力度行动等,都是有效扩大实践循环经济的方法。

 

4.jpg
宜可城东亚秘书处项目官员楊筠介绍宜可城的“绿色循环城市联盟” ©宜可城日本办公室

 

宜可城日本办事处主席浜中裕德教授(Hironori Hamanaka)受邀在“可持续消费:循环经济和气候效益的驱动因素”环节上分享地方政府的杰出实践。

日本环境省総合环境政策局担当中井徳太郎(Tokutaro Nakai) 在“向日本学习:建立健全物质循环社会”平行会议上,介绍了日本《第五次基本环境计划》中所纳入的“地域循環共生圏”的概念,强调通过整合协调自然资源和公众参与,实现资源循环社会,促使人类生活与自然环境和谐共生。

日本城市大阪和北九州,双双展示了他们在塑料资源循环再生、减少食品浪费、包装减量以及生态城项目等领域的杰出实践。来自经济合作与发展组织的城市政策和可持续发展司政策分析师 Oriana Romano 介绍了进行中的城市循环经济治理和实践的研究项目,并表示日本城市间和跨层级政府部门(中央政府、省县及各级地方政府)间的循环经济交流合作经验,相当值得其他国家和城市学习借鉴。

22 日下午的“发展中国家循环经济的社会,环境和经济效益”会议中,联合国环境署国际资源小组联合主席 Izabella Teixeira 以巴西为例,强调了为各种规模的城市定制因地制宜的计划和方法的重要性。另外,她也表示必须以具有包容性的观点看待乡镇和城市发展,以确保循环经济具有可持续性。

各方代表纷纷在闭幕式上呼吁促进循环经济领域的国际合作。 为摆脱当前的线性发展模式,政府、企业和公民应根据自己的责任,在不影响在地特性的条件之下, 通过多方利益相关者的合作伙伴关系, 识别具体行动并进行合作。芬兰创新基金 Sitra 董事 Mari Pantsar 虽遗憾“循环经济”概念并未在最新出炉的《 IPCC 1.5 度特别报告》中被视为应对气候变化的关键解决方案,但 2018 世界循环经济论坛的参与者深信,只要同心协力,持续开展行动,未来的世界将更加循环并具有可持续性。

 

边会与实地访查

宜可城东亚秘书处此行还参加了日本环境卫生中心所主办的第十一届亚洲地方政府 3R 会议。日本横滨、北九州、川崎等三个宜可城会员城市,分别向菲律宾达沃市、越南海防市和缅甸仰光市展示分享了他们在餐厨垃圾处理和塑料垃圾管理领域的城际合作经验。 合作领域除了政府间经验交流,还包含技术投资、环境教育和公众仪式提升。

参与者分成三组,实地考察横滨市内的废塑料回收设施、有机堆肥设施等废弃物处理设施,并再转往参访该市四座垃圾焚烧发电站之一的金泽(Kanazawa)生活垃圾焚烧发电厂。

 

宜可城全球秘书处
Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 7
53113 Bonn
Germany
T: +49-228/97 62 99-00
F.+49-228/97 62 99-01 电邮: www.iclei.org
欧洲
欧洲秘书处
Leopoldring 3
79098 Freiburg, Germany
www.iclei-europe.org
布鲁塞尔办公室
Av. de Tervuren 35
1040 Bruxelles
Belgium
非洲
Physical address:
3 Knowledge Park
Century City
Cape Town
8001
South Africa
Postal address:
PO Box 5319
Tygervalley
7536
South Africa
africa.iclei.org
北美洲
加拿大办公室
401 Richmond St. W
Studio 204
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 3A8, Canada
www.icleicanada.org
美国办公室
536 Wynkoop St.
Suite 901
Denver, Colorado
USA 80202
www.icleiusa.org
墨西哥、中美洲和加勒比地区
墨西哥、中美洲和加勒比海区秘书处
Paseo de la Reforma 136 Piso 14 Of. B, Col. Juarez, C.P. 06600, Del. Cuauhtemoc, Ciudad de Mexico
www.iclei.org.mx
南美洲
南美洲秘书处
Rua Ibiraçu, 226, Vila Madalena
São Paulo / SP - Brazil
CEP 05451-040
americadosul.iclei.org
南亚
南亚秘书处
Ground Floor, NSIC-STP Complex NSIC Bhawan, Okhla Industrial Estate New Delhi – 110020, India
southasia.iclei.org
东亚
东亚秘书处
14/F, Seoul Global Center Building, 38 Jongno, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (110-110)
eastasia.iclei.org
日本办公室
1-14-2 Nishi-Shimbashi,
Minato-ku
Tokyo, Japan 105-0003
japan.iclei.org
韩国办公室
(16429) 3F, Suwon Research Institute,
126, Suin-ro, Gwonseon-gu, Suwon-si,
Gyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea
www.icleikorea.org
东南亚
东南亚秘书处
c/o The Manila Observatory Ateneo de Manila University Campus Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1101 Manila, Philippines
icleiseas.org
印尼项目办公室
Rasuna Office Park III WO. 06-09 Komplek Rasuna Epicentrum Jl. Taman Rasuna Selatan, Kuningan DKI Jakarta, 12960, Indonesia
大洋洲
大洋洲秘书处
Level 1, 200 Little Collins Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
www.icleioceania.org

World Circular Economy Forum 2018 hosted in Yokohama

Circular economy strategies enable the world to tackle climate change challenges, polluted environments, and unemployment. Strong political and business leadership and collaboration would allow societies to move away from the current linear economic paradigm; whereas city-to-city cooperation and mutual learning would make the circular economy possible at the local level.

The 2nd World Circular Economy Forum (WCEF2018) was hosted in Yokohama, Japan on 22-24 October 2018. Jointly hosted by the Finnish Innovation Fund Sitra and the Japanese Ministry of Environment, WCEF2018 is the biggest global event on the circular economy, gathering 1,100 experts and change-makers from around the world to have an in-depth discussion on their visions.

As a global leading network of sustainable development, ICLEI actively participated in this year’s Forum and highlighted the role of local governments in fostering the circular transition.

In the grand opening of the Forum, representatives from Japan, Finland, the European Commission, Global Environmental Facility, the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development, and UNEP, all highlighted the circular approach as a vehicle to achieve the Paris Agreement goals and the Sustainable Development Goals. “The circular economy is the industrial leg of fighting climate change”, stated Jyrki Katainen, Vice-president of the European Commission, who further called for global public-private collaboration on the topic.

 

2X.jpg

Fumiko Hayashi, Mayor of Yokohama, delivered the welcome speech at the grand opening of WCEF2018 / Photo: Yuki Kato

 

Yokohama, the largest Japanese municipality and an active ICLEI Member, represented by Mayor Fumiko Hayashi, demonstrated the municipality’s efforts to reduce waste generation and food waste, and share the lessons learned with cities worldwide.

Key outcomes of the 2018 Forum include:

  • A Memorandum of Environmental Cooperation on climate change and environmental collapse was signed between the Japanese Ministry of Environment and the Finnish Ministry of Environment.
  • Shinzo Abe, Prime Minister of Japan, announced that Japan will take the lead on the circular economy within the international community and will utilize its presidency of G20 in 2019 to raise the related challenges of plastic waste and marine pollution, climate change, and biodiversity.
  • Sitra published WCEF Visions 2050 as a conclusion of this year’s Forum, outlining the circular economy approach will bring possible solutions to the threat we face to natural resources, manufacturing, transportation, services, food, living, plastics, and capabilities.

 

MOU between Finland and Japan

Finland has the ambition to become the global front-runner in the circular economy by 2025 and is committed to achieving carbon-neutral. The National Government developed the “Leading the Cycle – Finnish Road Map to a Circular Economy 2010-2025” in 2016 with the support and cooperation of the Finnish Innovation Fund Sitra and various stakeholders. The organization of the WCEF was included in the Road Map as a way to facilitate global collaborations and joint actions.

Japan, on the other hand, has been the leader of the 3Rs (reduce, reuse, and recycle) and the circular economy — known as the Sound Material-Cycle Society and “Mottainai” in the country — since it enacted the Basic Act for Establishing a Sound Material-Cycle Society in 2001 and the Fundamental Plan for Establishing a Sound Material-Cycle Society in 2003. The 4th Fundamental Plan which included further approaches to pursue the circular economy was again adopted in 2018. As the host of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games and G20 presidency, Japan will keep leading the world towards a more sustainable and circular future.

The Memorandum of Environmental Cooperation signed between Japan and Finland demonstrated that the two countries have reached an agreement to seek further cooperation on climate change and environmental collapse.

 

3X.jpg
Japan’s Minister of the Environment Yoshiaki Harada and Finland’s Minister of the Environment Kimmo Tiilikainen
signed a Memorandum of Environmental Cooperation. Photo / Tatsuya Hirota
Photo / Tatsuya Hirota

 

Circular Economy for Better Environment and Sustainable Future

The 3-day Forum is composed of a number of parallel sessions and plenaries. In the parallel session “Circular Food Systems in Cities”, Kazuo Fukuyama, Director General, Resources and Waste Recycling Bureau of Yokohama, presented the city’s efforts to reduce food waste by 20% by 2021 through raising public awareness, environmental education activities, and collaboration with local stakeholders. Yvonne Yang, Program Officer of ICLEI East Asia joined the session as a panelist to introduce ICLEI’s new initiative “Green Circular Cities Coalition” and highlighted policy and institutional environment, information transparency, and local governments’ facilitation as solutions to up-scaling the circular economy.

 


Yvonne Yang, Program Officer of ICLEI East Asia introduced the Green Circular Cities Coalition /  Photo: ICLEI Japan

 

In the parallel session “Building a Sound-Material Cycle Society: Learnings from Japan”, Tokutaro Nakai, Director-General for Environmental Policy, Ministry of Environment, Japan, emphasized the concept of “regional circular and ecological sphere” adopted in the country’s Fifth Basic Environment Plan to achieve resource circulation and to harmonize human life with nature by integrating and coordinating natural resource and public engagement.

Japanese cities of Osaka and Kitakyushu demonstrated their practices on plastic resource circulation, food waste and packaging reduction, and the eco-town project. Oriana Romano, the Policy Analyst of Cities, Urban Policies and Sustainable Development Division of OECD, introduced a research project on governance and implementation of the circular economy in cities. She suggested that the practices of city-to-city cooperation and collaboration across national, regional, and local governments in Japan could be fruitful experiences for other countries and cities to learn from.

With Brazil as an example, Izabella Teixeira, Co-chair of the UNEP International Resource Panel highlighted the importance of tailoring different approaches for cities on various scales at the plenary session “Social, Environmental, and Economic Benefits from Circular Economy in Developing Countries”. She also addressed the need for the inclusion of rural and urban development to make the circular economy sustainable.

The grand finale of the Forum calls for international cooperation for the circular economy. To shift away from the current linear paradigm, governments, companies, and citizens should set specific actions of their own and collaborate through multi-stakeholder partnerships depending on their responsibilities, and without compromising local and regional characteristics. While Mari Pantsar, Director of Sitra was disappointed about the circular economy being left out of the latest IPCC 1.5 Degrees Report as a recommended key solution, participants of WCEF2018 are confident that the joint movement will continue to grow and make the world more circular and sustainable.

ICLEI East Asia joined the second day of the 11th 3R Conference for Asian Local Governments organized by the Japan Environmental Sanitation Center. ICLEI Member cities of Yokohama, Kitakyushu, and Kawasaki shared their city-to-city cooperation on food waste and plastic waste management with the cities of Davao (Philippines), Hai Phong (Vietnam), and Yangon (Myanmar). Besides experience and knowledge exchange between local governments, investment in technologies and environmental education was also included in city-to-city collaborations.

During the excursion, participants were divided into three groups for different facilities in Yokohama City, including a waste plastic recycling facility, an organic waste composting facility, and a facility producing animal feed from organic waste. All participants then went to the Kanazawa Incineration Plant, which is one of four waste-to-energy sites in the city.

 

5.JPG
Central control room of the Kanazawa Incineration Plant / Photo: ICLEI East Asia

 

This newsbit refers to WCEF Bulletin published by International Institute for Sustainable Development on 26 Oct 2018. Retrieve from here

 

 

ICLEI WORLD SECRETARIAT
Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 7
53113 Bonn
Germany
T: +49-228/97 62 99-00
F.+49-228/97 62 99-01 Email: www.iclei.org
EUROPE
European Secretariat
Leopoldring 3
79098 Freiburg, Germany
www.iclei-europe.org
Brussels Office
Av. de Tervuren 35
1040 Bruxelles
Belgium
Africa secretariat
Physical address:
3 Knowledge Park
Century City
Cape Town
8001
South Africa
Postal address:
PO Box 5319
Tygervalley
7536
South Africa
africa.iclei.org
north america
Canada Office
401 Richmond St. W
Studio 204
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 3A8, Canada
www.icleicanada.org
USA Office
536 Wynkoop St.
Suite 901
Denver, Colorado
USA 80202
www.icleiusa.org
MEXICO, CENTRAL AMERICA and the CARIBBEAN
Mexico, Central American and Caribbean Secretariat
Paseo de la Reforma 136 Piso 14 Of. B, Col. Juarez, C.P. 06600, Del. Cuauhtemoc, Ciudad de Mexico
www.iclei.org.mx
South America
South American Secretariat
Rua Ibiraçu, 226, Vila Madalena
São Paulo / SP - Brazil
CEP 05451-040
americadosul.iclei.org
South Asia
South Asia Secretariat
Ground Floor, NSIC-STP Complex NSIC Bhawan, Okhla Industrial Estate New Delhi – 110020, India
southasia.iclei.org
east asia
East Asia Secretariat
14/F, Seoul Global Center Building, 38 Jongno, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (110-110)
ICLEI East Asia Secretariat
Japan Office
1-14-2 Nishi-Shimbashi,
Minato-ku
Tokyo, Japan 105-0003
ICLEI Japan
Korea Office
(16429) 3F, Suwon Research Institute,
126, Suin-ro, Gwonseon-gu, Suwon-si,
Gyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea
www.icleikorea.org
southeast asia
Southeast Asia Secretariat
c/o The Manila Observatory Ateneo de Manila University Campus Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1101 Manila, Philippines
icleiseas.org
Indonesia Project Office
Rasuna Office Park III WO. 06-09 Komplek Rasuna Epicentrum Jl. Taman Rasuna Selatan, Kuningan DKI Jakarta, 12960, Indonesia
oceania
Oceania Secretariat
Level 1, 200 Little Collins Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
www.icleioceania.org
Associate Partnership
ICLEI membership application
Want to be a model?
ICLEI membership online application form