2020 年宜可城东亚区域执行委员会于线上召开

11 月 26 日,由宜可城东亚秘书处组织的第九届宜可城东亚区域执行委员会年度会议顺利召开,本次会议是新一届(2021-2024)执行委员会的首次会议。2020 年是有关适应的一年,因为世界各地的人们皆同时面临着气候变化和新冠肺炎疫情的双重挑战。宜可城也不例外,今年是东亚秘书处首次在线上举办区域执行委员会的年度会议,为新选任的委员提供交流平台,促进城市行动,确保东亚地区在疫情后复苏的过程中,持续保持对于应对气候变化的雄心。本次会议由东亚秘书处主任朱澍主持,并由宜可城全球秘书长 Gino van Begin 致开幕辞。

 

宜可城东亚区域执行委员会

 

东亚区域执行委员会的留任委员及其所在城市,都在各自国家的可持续发展进程中扮演着榜样的角色。例如,日本京都市市长、执行委员会主席门川大作表示,该市以在 2050 年实现净零排放为目标,积极推广由宜可城和全球环境战略研究所(IGES)共同提出的 1.5 摄氏度生活模式(1.5°C Lifestyles)倡议,并携手市民和各部门单位,共同修订该市的应对全球气候变化条例与其行动计划。韩国首尔市环境能源企划官 Min Kwon 代表代理市长、执行委员会副主席徐政协介绍说,首尔在处理积极推进清洁空气行动之外,为了应对气候变化和新冠肺炎疫情,于七月份出台了该市的“绿色新政”,引入了面向 2050 年的减排战略和创造具有可持续性的就业机会。水原市副市长赵武英代表市长廉泰英出席会议并表示,该市同样也积极在韩国国内领导气候对话,特别是针对有关生态出行的议题,并积极呼吁韩国应以 2050 年为目标实现碳中和。

 


Untitled-1_Post Card.png
左至右:京都市长門川大作;首尔市环境能源企划官 Min Kwon (代表首尔市代理市长徐正协出席);水原市副市长赵武英(代表市长廉泰英出席

 

另一方面,新加入执委会的委员也通过行动展示了他们对可持续发展的承诺。长春市副市长贾丽娜在会上展示了该市在生态文明建设和绿色经济等方面开展的行动和成果,并承诺将履行该市在委员会中担当的角色,以加入宜可城的绿色循环城市联盟项目作为第一步,积极迈向绿色循环城市的先锋。而作为全球首批完成地方自愿检视报告的城市之一,新北市副市长谢政达则介绍了该市将以 2030 年为目标,实现无煤城市的雄心壮志。

 

Artboard 2.png
左:长春市副市长贾丽娜(中);右:新北市副市长謝政達

在委员各自报告了他们的城市为迈向可持续发展作出的努力之后,委员会的顾问委员中村正久教授和张海,以及宜可城在东亚地区的办公室也分享了 2020 年的工作成果,与明年的工作计划。虽然新冠肺炎疫情仍未平息,所有的办公室和委员皆已将工作搬上线,并找到合适的方法,持续支持和加深地方政府在地方和国际层面的参与和责任。例如,宣布气候紧急状态并积极领导气候倡议,或参与“奔向零碳(Race to Zero) ”全球行动倡议,将成果汇报给联合国《气候变化框架公约》秘书处。

宜可城东亚秘书处将在明年于中国云南省昆明市举行的《生物多样性公约》第十五次缔约方大会(CBD COP-15)的筹备过程中扮演积极的支持角色,并在大会框架下牵头主办第七届全球城市和地方政府生物多样性峰会。届时,宜可城也将全力协助东亚城市参会,展示他们通过韧性和基于自然的路径,推进可持续发展的成果。另外,东亚秘书处也将与首尔等东亚市一同努力,深化“东亚清洁空气城市网络”项目的合作,期望在未来数年内吸引更多的城市加入,筹措更多资源开展合作活动,共同应对区域性空气污染问题。

宜可城东亚秘书处创始主任欧习墨在发言中表示,东亚拥有其他区域无法比拟的庞大产业和人口,因此,东亚的地方政府掌握了改变全球气候变化进程的关键。对此,宜可城和东亚地区执行委员会的成员们也认知到彼此共同承担了这份责任,并将为即将开展的各项活动做足准备,衷心期盼能在 2021 年朝向更可持续的未来共同迈进。

 

Group.jpeg
2020 年宜可城东亚地区执行委员会年会顺利在线上举行

 

 

宜可城全球秘书处
Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 7
53113 Bonn
Germany
T: +49-228/97 62 99-00
F.+49-228/97 62 99-01 电邮: www.iclei.org
欧洲
欧洲秘书处
Leopoldring 3
79098 Freiburg, Germany
www.iclei-europe.org
布鲁塞尔办公室
Av. de Tervuren 35
1040 Bruxelles
Belgium
非洲
Physical address:
3 Knowledge Park
Century City
Cape Town
8001
South Africa
Postal address:
PO Box 5319
Tygervalley
7536
South Africa
africa.iclei.org
北美洲
加拿大办公室
401 Richmond St. W
Studio 204
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 3A8, Canada
www.icleicanada.org
美国办公室
536 Wynkoop St.
Suite 901
Denver, Colorado
USA 80202
www.icleiusa.org
墨西哥、中美洲和加勒比地区
墨西哥、中美洲和加勒比海区秘书处
Paseo de la Reforma 136 Piso 14 Of. B, Col. Juarez, C.P. 06600, Del. Cuauhtemoc, Ciudad de Mexico
www.iclei.org.mx
南美洲
南美洲秘书处
Rua Ibiraçu, 226, Vila Madalena
São Paulo / SP - Brazil
CEP 05451-040
americadosul.iclei.org
南亚
南亚秘书处
Ground Floor, NSIC-STP Complex NSIC Bhawan, Okhla Industrial Estate New Delhi – 110020, India
southasia.iclei.org
东亚
东亚秘书处
14/F, Seoul Global Center Building, 38 Jongno, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (110-110)
eastasia.iclei.org
日本办公室
1-14-2 Nishi-Shimbashi,
Minato-ku
Tokyo, Japan 105-0003
japan.iclei.org
韩国办公室
(16429) 3F, Suwon Research Institute,
126, Suin-ro, Gwonseon-gu, Suwon-si,
Gyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea
www.icleikorea.org
东南亚
东南亚秘书处
c/o The Manila Observatory Ateneo de Manila University Campus Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1101 Manila, Philippines
icleiseas.org
印尼项目办公室
Rasuna Office Park III WO. 06-09 Komplek Rasuna Epicentrum Jl. Taman Rasuna Selatan, Kuningan DKI Jakarta, 12960, Indonesia
大洋洲
大洋洲秘书处
Level 1, 200 Little Collins Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
www.icleioceania.org

2020 ICLEI East Asia RexCom Annual Meeting hosted virtually

On 26 November, the 2020 ICLEI East Asia RexCom Meeting took place virtually, hosted by the East Asia Secretariat with a live opening remark by Gino Van Begin, Secretary General of ICLEI. 2020 has been a year of adaptation, as people around the world are all facing the same double challenges of climate change and COVID-19. It was no exception for ICLEI members and offices in East Asia: it was the first time to hold the annual governance meeting online with the newly elected RexCom Members of 2021-2024. The Secretariat hence aimed to bring together the cities to catalyze actions to help the Region to maintain climate ambition along the recovery and was pleased to have learned the proactive actions taken by RexCom Members’ cities and ICLEI Offices despite the global pandemic.

 

2020 ICLEI East Asia RexCom

 

First, the long Members of ICLEI have been demonstrating their exemplary roles in their respective countries. Kyoto is continuously putting efforts to realize the city’s zero-emission goal by 2050, promoting campaigns such as the 1.5’c Lifestyles prepared by ICLEI-IGES and actively engaging with citizens and various sectors to revise the global warming countermeasures ordinance and its action plan. As for Seoul, while active in combating air pollution, it announced the city’s own Green New Deal in July to respond to climate change and COVID-19 introducing 2050 GHG reduction strategies and sustainable job creations. Suwon, too, has been leading the climate dialogue and especially on eco-mobility in South Korea, and actively called for national carbon neutrality by 2050.


Untitled-1_Post Card.png
Left to right: Mayor Daisaku Kadokawa of Kyoto; Director General Min Kwon, Proxy of Acting Mayor Jeong Hyup Seo of Seoul;
Vice Mayor Moo Young Jo, Proxy of Mayor Tae-Young Yeom of Seoul

 

On the other hand, new RexCom Members have also shown their great commitment through action. Changchun, the first-ever Chinese local government which has become a RexCom Member, shared its commitment to leading eco-civilization and fulfilling its portfolio role to be the pioneer of circular cities in China — by joining ICLEI’s Green Circular Cities Coalition as a first step. New Taipei, also, has shared its great capacity by demonstrating how it has been one of the first cities in the world to complete the Voluntary Local Review (VLR) and by emphasizing its ambition to be coal-free by 2023.

 

Artboard 2.png
Left to right: Vice Mayor Lina Jia of Changchun (center); Deputy Mayor Cheng-Ta Hsieh of New Taipei

 

The Members’ development toward sustainable cities was then followed by the Advisory Members and ICLEI offices in the region updating their achievements in 2020 and their plans for the next year. Despite the pandemic, all offices and Members have put a great effort to move their platform online and find ways to engage and strengthen local governments’ presence and responsibilities at both local and international levels such as supporting local governments to declare a climate emergency and actively leading the Race to Zero campaign reporting to the UNFCCC.

Last but not least, the ICLEI East Asia Secretariat updated its increased responsibilities in the next year’s Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD COP15) in Kunming, and its ambition to bring cities in the region to exhibit their resilient and nature-based development pathways to sustainable development. Along with this international negotiation, ICLEI East Asia also promised its strong support to the upscaled East Asia Clean Air Cities Network with Seoul focusing on attracting more members and resources in the coming years in order to combat the regional air pollution through local governments’ collective actions.

In his closing remark, Konrad Zimmerman, founding director of ICLEI East Asia stressed that, as East Asian local governments host mega-scale industries and populations like no other regions, they have the key to changing the global climate course. Per this remark, ICLEI and the RexCom Members have mutually acknowledged and shared the weight of responsibilities, and are looking forward to the upcoming activities, sincerely hoping that we could make a step closer to a sustainable future in 2021.

 

Group.jpeg
2020 ICLEI East Asia RexCom Meeting was hosted successfully online

 

 

ICLEI WORLD SECRETARIAT
Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 7
53113 Bonn
Germany
T: +49-228/97 62 99-00
F.+49-228/97 62 99-01 Email: www.iclei.org
EUROPE
European Secretariat
Leopoldring 3
79098 Freiburg, Germany
www.iclei-europe.org
Brussels Office
Av. de Tervuren 35
1040 Bruxelles
Belgium
Africa secretariat
Physical address:
3 Knowledge Park
Century City
Cape Town
8001
South Africa
Postal address:
PO Box 5319
Tygervalley
7536
South Africa
africa.iclei.org
north america
Canada Office
401 Richmond St. W
Studio 204
Toronto, Ontario
M5V 3A8, Canada
www.icleicanada.org
USA Office
536 Wynkoop St.
Suite 901
Denver, Colorado
USA 80202
www.icleiusa.org
MEXICO, CENTRAL AMERICA and the CARIBBEAN
Mexico, Central American and Caribbean Secretariat
Paseo de la Reforma 136 Piso 14 Of. B, Col. Juarez, C.P. 06600, Del. Cuauhtemoc, Ciudad de Mexico
www.iclei.org.mx
South America
South American Secretariat
Rua Ibiraçu, 226, Vila Madalena
São Paulo / SP - Brazil
CEP 05451-040
americadosul.iclei.org
South Asia
South Asia Secretariat
Ground Floor, NSIC-STP Complex NSIC Bhawan, Okhla Industrial Estate New Delhi – 110020, India
southasia.iclei.org
east asia
East Asia Secretariat
14/F, Seoul Global Center Building, 38 Jongno, Jongno-gu, Seoul, South Korea (110-110)
ICLEI East Asia Secretariat
Japan Office
1-14-2 Nishi-Shimbashi,
Minato-ku
Tokyo, Japan 105-0003
ICLEI Japan
Korea Office
(16429) 3F, Suwon Research Institute,
126, Suin-ro, Gwonseon-gu, Suwon-si,
Gyeonggi-do, Republic of Korea
www.icleikorea.org
southeast asia
Southeast Asia Secretariat
c/o The Manila Observatory Ateneo de Manila University Campus Loyola Heights, Quezon City 1101 Manila, Philippines
icleiseas.org
Indonesia Project Office
Rasuna Office Park III WO. 06-09 Komplek Rasuna Epicentrum Jl. Taman Rasuna Selatan, Kuningan DKI Jakarta, 12960, Indonesia
oceania
Oceania Secretariat
Level 1, 200 Little Collins Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
www.icleioceania.org
Associate Partnership
ICLEI membership application
Want to be a model?
ICLEI membership online application form